Hampshire Chess Congress results and news.

The Hampshire Chess Association 2019 Congress was held at Fareham between the 1st and 3rd November 2019. We have a new county champion. Rolandas Lukosius (Hamble) beat last year’s champion, Matt Chapman (Fareham), on tie-break to take the Silver Rook for a year. But 1st prize in the Open went to Cliff Chandler (Maidstone) who finished with 5 pts, one point ahead of the field. The trophy for the grading prize went to Ben Aubury (Winchester College) on tie-break from David Heath (Maidstone).

In the Major Section, Matthew Wilson (Plymouth) took 1st place with 5 pts. 2nd= on 4½ pts were Thomas Evans (Cosham) and David Holmes (Chandlers Ford). Also on 4½ pts was John Torrance (Bromley) who won the Under-140 grading prize. Thomas Evans won the Peter Marshall trophy for the highest-placed Hampshire player, on tie-break from David Holmes.

1st place in the Minor Section was shared by Chris Webb (Dorchester) and Charles Bird (Battersea) on 5 pts). 3rd prize went to William Taplin (Keynsham) on 4½ pts.

Alan Fraser (Beckenham & Bromley) took the Under-100 grading prize. The Parsons Cup for the highest placed Hampshire player was won by Edward Blanden (Emsworth) with 4 pts, on tie-break from John Davis (Southampton).

And finally, the Ladies prize was won by Melissa Hamilton (Cosham) with 3½ pts, ahead of Gillian Moore (Southampton (3 pts).

Here are the prize winners -:
(A full list of all results will be available shortly)

1st (5 pts) Cliff Chandler (Maidstone)
2nd= (4 pts) Matt Chapman (Fareham) and Rolandas Lukosius (Hamble)
Under-175 Grading Prize (3 pts) David Heath (Maidstone) and Ben Aubury (Winchester College)
14 started, 11 finished.

1st (5 pts) Matthew Wilson (Plymouth)
2nd= (4½ pts) Thomas Evans (Cosham) and David Holmes (Chandlers Ford)
Under-140 Grading Prize (4½ pts) – John Torrance (Bromley)
23 started, 20 finished.

1st= (5 pts) Chris Webb (Dorchester) and Charles Bird (Battersea)
3rd (4½ pts) William Taplin (Keynsham)
Under-100 Grading Prize (4½ pts) Alan Fraser (Beckenham & Bromley)
27 started, 22 finished.

The John Dunleavy Memorial Prize for the best game in any section will be announced later on the Hampshire website – www.HampshireChess.co.uk

John Wheeler (Sec, Hampshire CA)