Hampshire Chess Congress 2016

Eastleigh, 4-6 Nov, 2016 

Tony Corkett has beaten Marshall Thompson’s record of nine wins in the Hampshire county championship by winning this year’s title. This is his 10th win, and his 3rd in the last three years. But he did not have it all his own way. He was ½ a point behind Matt Chapman going into the last round, but a convincing win over Matt gave him the title. Second place was a tie between David Fowler and Keith Gregory, with Matt Chapman winning the Under-175 Grading Prize.

In the Major section, Joe Coburn proved too strong for the opposition, finishing a clear point ahead of Gillian Moore and 13-year old Paul Northcott in 2nd place.

The Under-140 Grading prize was shared by Mark Stone, Chris Smith and Paul Hurn.

The Minor Section was very popular this year, and very closely fought. Four players tied for 1st place with 4½ points – Tim Cutter, Martyn Maber, Richard Slade and 7-year-old Shreyas Royal. Tim Cutter won the Hampshire title and trophy on tie-break. The Under-100 Grading prize was also shared – Rob Davies and Ryan Cheung each scored 4 points.

The Ladies prize was regained this year by Gillian Moore, after letting it go last year.

1st (4½ pts) Tony Corkett (Fareham)
2nd= (4 pts) David Fowler (Gosport) and Keith Gregory (Fareham)
Under-175 Grading Prize (4 pts) Matt Chapman (Fareham).
12 started, 11 finished.

1st (5 pts) Joe Coburn (Gosport) winning the Peter Marshall trophy.
2nd=(4 pts) Gillian Moore (Southampton) and Paul Northcott (Emsworth). Under-140 Grading Prize (3 pts) Mark Stone (Petts Wood & Orpington), Chris Smith (Fareham) and Paul Hurn (Southampton)
13 started, 12 finished.

1st= Tim Cutter (Hampshire) (winning the Parsons trophy), Martyn Maber (Taunton), Richard Slade (Chandlers Ford) and Shreyas Royal (Hampstead).
Under-100 Grading Prize (4 pts) Rob Davies (Fareham) and Ryan Cheung (Southampton University)
29 started, 29 finished.

This year we were able to offer a best game prize – the John Dunleavy Memorial prize. The winner will be announced on the Hampshire website – www.HampshireChess.co.uk

John Wheeler (Sec, Hampshire C.A.)

Link to Congress Photos