Southampton ‘A’ Convincing Winners

Southern Daily Echo

The Minor section of the Hampshire Individual championship was shared by four players as was the case last year, with a different four players involved. The players all of whom obtained 4.5 points were Chris Priest (Hamble), John Belinger (New Milton), Ivor Kelly (Camberley) and Steve Kitley (Winchester) with Priest taking the Hampshire title and trophy on a tie break. David Jerome (Emsworth) won the under 100 grading prize with 3.5 points.

The ladies prize was shared by Gillian Moore, Amanda Jones, Maha Chandar and Mansa Chandar all of whom obtained 3 points, while Graham Stuart (Chandlers Ford) won the best game prize for his victory against Joe Coburn.

Division 1
Southampton A 4.5 Salisbury A 0.5
(T Kazmierski 1 S Piper 0, D Soares 1 A Manning 0, G Jones 0.5 M Bowhay 0.5, D Cordner 1 T Rusin 0, D Ramos 1 R Wright 0)

Division 2
Winchester A 3 Fareham A 2
(A Dyos 0 K Gregory 1, R Atkins 0,5 R Marsh 0.5, R Cleave 1 C Couch 0, D Kinsler 0.5 J Coburn 0.5, M White 1 D Elliott 0)

Hamble B 2.5 Southampton B 2.5
(D Fowler 0.5 G Jones 0.5, M Newbury 0.5 D Cordner 0.5, R Puchades 0.5 T Chapman 0.5, S LeFevre 0.5 G Moore 0.5, S Pearson 0.5 J Wiseman 0.5)

Division 3
Basingstoke B 3 Winchester B 2
(J Shaddick 0.5 G Payne 0.5, E Smith 0.5 D Green 0.5, P Ware 0 J Trapp 1, G Phillips 1 J Schonenberger 0, A Matthews 1 H Moore 0)

Division 4/5 Cup
Fareham B 2 Southampton D 2
(A Butler 1 D Nelson 0, C Chapman 1 D Murchie 0, B Chant 0 R Forbes 1, D Anderson 0 T Hutchins 1). Fareham B win on board count

Article kindly contributed by Malcolm Clarke for the Southern Daily Echo dated Saturday 25th November 2017

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.