SCL Update 30/03/2019

It has been a good week for Ringwood chess club. Their B team clinched the division 3 title by whitewashing Andover B, while a further whitewash against Chandlers Ford C in which the scoreline did not reflect that some of the games could easily have gone the other way has virtually ensured that Ringwood C are division 5 champions, although they still have three matches to play. In division 1 their main rivals for the division 1 title Southampton A were beaten by a Hamble A team, who were recording only their second league win of the season.

For the first time in 20 matches under Malcolm Clarke’s captaincy Chandlers Ford A were involved in a drawn match as they drew 2.5-2.5 with Winchester B. The result means Chandlers Ford finish 4th, Winchester 5th and Andover 6th.

Chandlers Ford C earned a good draw against University C who had already recorded three wins against Chandlers Ford teams this season. However Chandlers Ford C remain bottom of the table and the only team they can catch are Chandlers Ford B. However with a win against Southampton D who had only previously lost once has clinched them second place in Division 4.

Salisbury B the division 3 runners up beat University B to make it seven wins and a draw from eight matches.

Division 1
Hamble A 3.5 Southampton A 1.5 (J Wilson 0 A Martinez-Sykora 1, R Lukoshius 1 G Jones 0, D Fowler 0.5 F McLeod 0.5, J Wilkinson 1 D Nother 0, M Krawczuk 1 D Agostinelli 0)

Division 3
University B 1.5 Salisbury B 3.5 (S Gow 1 J Wiseman 0, D Lambton 0.5 R Wright 0.5, R Simpson 0 A Jones 1, P Wei 0 J Barnett 1, M McDonnell 0 M Coldwell 1)

Winchester B 2.5 Chandlers Ford A 2.5 (L Piecha 0.5 D Holmes 0.5, R Cleave 0.5 P Overton 0.5, R Atkins 0.5 G Stuart 0.5, D Kinsler 0.5 D Culliford 0.5, S Kitley 0.5 S Murphy 0.5)

Andover B 0 Ringwood B 5 (J Burrett 0 R Halse 1, G Stonham 0 K Smith 1; W Jackson 0 R Ursell 1, A Dinkele 0 P Donaldson 1, A Armstrong 0 A Wykes 1)

Division 4
University C 2 Chandlers Ford C 2 (R Simpson 1 Maha Chandar 0, R Rajashekar 1 K Lamb 0, M Leily 0 D Creasey 1. P Wei 0 James Lesniak 1) Game for grading purposes only L Jackson (University) 1 O Barnes (Chandlers Ford) 0

University C 3 Southampton D 1 (R Simpson 1 D Nelson 0, M Leily 1 D Murchie 0, P Wei 0 T Hutchins 1, M Pugh 1 P Chinkin 0)

Division 5
Ringwood C 4 Chandlers Ford D 0 (P Donaldson 1 S Kay 0, R Davenport 1 N George 0, A Wykes 1 S Dunleavy 0, M Day 1 R Strachan0)

Fareham B 1 Salisbury D 3 (details to follow)

Hampshire Chess Congress 2019

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.