Salisbury good start ended by Basingstoke

The Hampshire Chess Association 2019 Congress held at the Lysses Hotel in Fareham saw Rolandas Lukosius (Hamble) beat last year’s champion, Matt Chapman (Fareham) on a tie break to become the Hampshire champion. Top scorer in the Open section was Cliff Chandler (Maidstone) who had won the event 43 years ago as a Southampton University student, but he does not qualify for the Hampshire Silver Rook trophy. The grading prize in the Open section was won by Ben Aubury (Winchester College) on tie-break from David Heath (Maidstone).

In the Major Section, Matthew Wilson (Plymouth) took 1st place with 5 points , in second place on 4½ points were Thomas Evans (University of Southampton) and David Holmes (Chandlers Ford). Also on 4½ points was John Torrance (Bromley) who won the Under-140 grading prize. Thomas Evans won the Peter Marshall trophy for the highest-placed Hampshire player, on tie-break from David Holmes.

First place in the Minor Section was shared by Chris Webb (Dorchester) and Charles Bird (Battersea) both obtaining 5 points, third prize went to William Taplin (Keynsham) with 4.5 points..

Alan Fraser (Beckenham & Bromley), who is well known on the chess tournament circuit, took the Under-100 grading prize. The Parsons Cup for the highest-placed Hampshire player was won by Edward Blanden (Emsworth) with 4 points beating John Davis (Southampton) on tie break.

The Ladies prize was won by Melissa Hamilton (Cosham) with 3½ points, half a point ahead of Gillian Moore (Southampton).

After a poor start to the Southampton League season, Southampton A obtained their first league win when they beat University A, while Salisbury C’s good start was ended when they lost to Basingstoke in division 5.

In the first 19 games of Malcolm Clarke’s captaincy of the Chandlers Ford A team not a single match finished all square, but now the team have drawn their last three matches. The latest draw was against Winchester where some of the visiting players were playing at the William Walker club in Winchester for the first time, even if three of the Chandlers Ford players had previously played for Winchester. On board 2 David Holmes’s opponent forced a draw by perpetual check early in proceedings, but winners were Graham Stuart and Peter Przybycin for Chandlers Ford and Doug Beer and Mike White for Winchester.

Chandlers Ford’s poor recent record against University teams ended when their B team beat the University C team 3-1 thanks to wins from Dick Meredith and John Kooner and draws from Peter Przybycin and Sam Murphy.


Division 1
Southampton A 3.5 University A 1.5 (A Martinez-Sykora 0.5 M Fernandez 0.5, M Cleary 0.5 M Rogacewicz 0.5, G Jones 0.5 E Manino 0.5, D Cordner 1 S Gow 0, F McLeod 1 T Evans 0)

Division 3
Winchester B 2.5 Chandlers Ford A 2.5 (D Beer 1 I Hardwick 0, R Atkins 0.5 D Holmes 0.5, S Kitley 0 G Stuart 1, M White 1 P Overton 0, D Kinsler 0 P Przybycin 1)

Division 4
Chandlers Ford B 3 University C 1 (P Przybycin 0.5 R Simpson 0.5, R Meredith 1 D Burton 0, S Murphy 0.5 M Leily 0.5, J Kooner 1 L Jackson 0)

Division 5
Salisbury C 1 Basingstoke 3 (J Barnett 0 B Kocan 1, C Kenward 0.5 PA Beldaus 0.5, G Ford 0.5 S Bhatt 0.5, M Barrett 0 A Matthews 1)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.