ECF Book of the Year 2018

The prestigious annual Book of the Year award from the English Chess Federation, has gone to Grandmaster Jan Markos.

‘Under the Surface’ is published by Quality Chess and priced at £23.99. The announcement was made on the ECF website and is available at this link. GM Jan Markos was previously the European Under-16 Champion and has won the Slovakian Championship twice, he has represented Slovakia at six Chess Olympiads.

ECF Book of the Year 2018

A pdf preview of the book featuring is available from this link to Quality Chess. The preview features a wonderfully named chapter titled “Anatoly Karpov’s Billiard Balls”, On the inability of bishops to move from one flank to the other.

This is an excellent read and the sample chapter demonstrates the clarity of the text and layout, something which should help all players to get much enjoyment from their time with this book.

Publisher: Quality Chess
Author: GM Jan Markos
Pages: 285
Price: £23.99p
Format: Hardback

ECF Article

Quality Chess

Sample Chapter


%d bloggers like this: