ECF Book of the Year 2017

Timman's Titans ECF Book of the Year 2017

The English Chess Federation Book of the Year for 2017 is Timman’s Titans by GM Jan Timman. Published by New in Chess this book sets out to tell the story of 10 Chess World Champions, revealing the stories and games behind the names. The World Champions featured are, Alekhine, ­ Euwe, ­ Botvinnik, ­ SmTimman's Titansyslov, ­ Tal, Petrosian, ­ Spassky, ­ Fischer, Karpov ­ and of course Kasparov.

The ECF Jury commented,

‘Timman’s Titans is the most informative, interesting and revealing book on the world champions covered, both as people and chess players. A disparate group of men whose only common characteristic was their chess genius (even that was not identical, they all played in different ways), matched only by their love of the game. Timman shows himself as a great player, only just short of world champion class, but equally in love with chess as the subjects of this book.’

Sample pages are available to read at the New in Chess website where the book may also be ordered.

ECF Book of the Year may be read in more details on the English Chess Federation Website.

Subscribe via Email

Please enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other subscribers.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.